More Than Just A Game
Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame

The East-West Shrine Bowl Hall of Fame is home to some of the greatest names ever to play the game. Each year, past players are selected to join this elite club. Candidates must have played in the East-West Shrine Bowl and have accomplished something significant in their career.

2020 Hall of Fame

As a part of the festivities surrounding the 95th East-West Shrine Bowl, Will Shields and Dan Pastorini were inducted into the East-West Shrine Bowl Hall of Fame during the Hall of Fame Induction Reception at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Florida.

Will Shields

Dan Pastorini

Will Shields

Will Shields is a former college and professional football player who was an offensive guard in the NFL for 14 seasons and was inducted into
the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2015. He was selected in the third round (74th overall) by the Kansas City Chiefs in the 1993 NFL Draft.

Throughout his seasons with the Chiefs, Shields never missed a game. He played in 224 games, three All-Pro Selections, and went to 12 straight Pro Bowls. He also won four division titles, made six playoff appearances and was named to the NFL “All-Decade Team” of the 2000s.

Shields played in the 1993 East-West Shrine Bowl, which, he said, is actually the only exposure he had to NFL coaches. The only team he had a meeting with is the team that drafted him (Kansas City Chiefs). During that week, he was also able to spend time with the children at Shriners  Children’s. “I loved it; it was excellent going there and it’s a cool factor being able to give back and be a part of that community,” said Shields. “You’ve been given a gift or a talent and now you can utilize that to help others.”

Although retired, Shields is still heavily involved in helping the community. He has a fitness center in Overland Park, Kansas, and also helps players who are transitioning out of the NFL. His Will to Succeed foundation, which was established in 1993, seeks to “guide & inspire, empower & improve the lives of those less fortunate by providing financial, educational and other everyday resources to those identified as most in need.”

Dan Pastorini

Dan Pastorini was the quarterback for Santa Clara University from 1968 to 1971. He was a Second-Team AP Little All-American selection, and ranked in the top 10 in nine of the school’s all-time passing records. He was drafted third overall by the Houston Oilers in the 1971 NFL Draft.

In 1975, Pastorini was also named to the AFC Pro Bowl team. In 1978, he threw for a career-high 2,473 yards and 16 touchdowns. After his career with the Oilers, Pastorini was traded to the Oakland Raiders (where he was a member of the 1980 Super Bowl championship team), the Los Angeles Rams, and the Philadelphia Eagles before retiring in 1983.

As the first son of a Shriner to play in the game, participating in the 1971 East-West Shrine Bowl was a special honor for Pastorini. “I was fortunate enough to be selected captain of the team and I had a very good game,” he said. “I got MVP of the game and set a record field goal.”

Pastorini is most proud of the charitable work that he is involved in. His foundation, Dan Pastorini Charity, assists in raising funds for and awareness of several charities, including Be An Angel, which he has been involved with for 30 years. He has been selected chairman of the board of Be An Angel Foundation, which helps profoundly deaf children, or children with multiple disabilities, by helping them obtain the equipment and care they need to improve their quality of life.

Pastorini is grateful for his East-West Shrine Bowl experience, and for receiving this distinction. “I would never have been selected as the third pick in the first round of the NFL draft if it weren’t for the opportunity to play in the East-West Shrine Bowl,” he said. “I’m truly honored to be in this year’s Hall of Fame.”

Hall of Fame Members

Year Name School Position
2020 Will Shields University of Nebraska-Lincoln OG
2020 Dan Pastorini Santa Clara University QB
2019 Troy Vincent Sr. University of Wisconsin CB
2019 Barry Smith Florida State University WR
2018 Brett Favre University of Southern Mississippi QB
2018 Gary Huff Florida State University QB
2017 Robert Porcher III South Carolina State DL
2017 Mark Rypien Washington State QB
2016 Rickey Jackson University of Pittsburgh LB
2016 Chris Chandler University of Washington QB
2015 Tommie Frazier University of Nebraska QB
2015 Jim Hanifan University of California TE
2014 Tony Berti University of Colorado OT
2014 Steve Atwater University of Arkansas DB
2013 Buddy Curry University of NC LB
2013 Steve Bartkowski UC Berkeley QB
2012 Martín Gramática Kansas State K
2012 Joey Harrington University of Oregon QB
2011 Buck Belue University of Georgia DB
2011 Tom Flick University of Washington QB
2010 Larry Csonka Syracuse University B
2010 Kellen Winslow University of Missouri TE
2009 Jerry Kramer University of Idaho G
2009 Charles aylor Arizona State B
2009 Brad Van Pelt Michigan State S
2009 Doug Williams Grambling State QB
2008 Dave Butz Purdue DT
2008 Carl Eller University of Minnesota T
2008 Forrest Gregg Southern Methodist T
2008 E.J. Holub Texas Tech C
2008 Leonard Moore Penn State B
2008 Larry Wilson University of Utah B
2007 Joe DeLamielleure Michigan State OT
2007 Gale Sayers University of Kansas B
2007 Paul Warfield Ohio State B
2007 Randy White University of Maryland DT
2006 Raymond Berry Southern Methodist E
2006 Joe Greene University of North Texas DT
2006 Mike Haynes Arizona State DB
2006 Bob Lilly Texas Christian T
2005 Pat Tillman Arizona State OLB
2004 Chris Burford Stanford E
2004 Mike Garrett USC B
2004 Gino Marchetti University of San Francisco G
2004 Tom Matte Ohio State B
2004 Ed White UC Berkeley DT
2003 Hugh McElhenny University of Washington B
2003 Craig Morton UC Berkeley QB
2003 Merlin Olsen Utah State T
2003 Alan C. Page Notre Dame DE
2003 Leslie Richter UC Berkeley G
2003 Gene Washington Stanford HB
2002 Dick Butkus University of Illinois C
2002 Gerald Ford University of Michigan C
2002 Edward LeBaron University of the Pacific B
2002 Ollie Matson University of San Francisco B
2002 Volney Peters USC T
2002 Richard (Dick) Stanfel University of San Francisco G
More Than Just a Game. Help Support Shriners Children's