Pat Tillman Award

Pat Tillman Award

Pat Tillman was a professional football player who walked away from the game after the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 to join the U.S. Army and fight for our country. A stand-out at Arizona State University, Tillman was named Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year as a senior before being drafted by the Arizona Cardinals.

After just three years in the NFL, Tillman turned down a multi-million dollar contract offer from the Cardinals to enlist in the U.S. Army. Tillman served multiple tours of duty, including Operation Iraqi Freedom, before he was killed during a mission in Afghanistan in 2004.

The East-West Shrine Bowl® Pat Tillman Award is presented to a player who best exemplifies character, intelligence, sportsmanship and service. The honor celebrates a student athlete’s outstanding achievements and conduct, in and out of the game

2024 Award Recipient

Trey Taylor SAF-Air Force

East-West Shrine Bowl Pat Tillman Award Recipients (2005-2024)

Year Name School Position
2024 Trey Taylor Air Force SAF
2023 Derek Parish Houston DL/EDGE
2022 Jack Coan Notre Dame QB
2020 James Morgan Florida International University QB
2019 Cody Barton Utah LB
2018 J.T. Barrett Ohio State QB
2017 Weston Steelhammer Air Force SAF
2016 Keenan Reynolds Navy QB
2015 Jake Ryan Michigan LB
2014 Gabe Ikard Oklahoma OC
2013 Keith Pough Howard LB
2012 Tauren Poole Tennessee RB
2011 Josh McNary Army LB
2010 Mike McLaughlin Boston College LB
2009 Collin Mooney Army FB
2008 Justin Tryon Arizona State DB
2007 Kyle Shotwell Cal Poly LB
2006 Charlie Peprah Alabama SAF
2005 Morgan Scalley Utah SAF
Get Your Tickets Today!